To my mum,

Today is mothers day in New Zealand. A day when I frantically hope the card and letter I posted has arrived on time, and try to make sure I send my mum a text and facebook message to ensure she’s aware that on this one day, I make sure to say I love you and thank you for supporting me.

Which is bizarre really. I feel the same way about mothers day as I do about fathers day and valentines day. Which is that it is so strange to wait all year to say these things when really they deserve to be said every single day. But I don’t. I doubt many people do actually say ‘thanks, mum, you’re doing great and I love you.’ on a daily basis.

I hope it’s one of those things that don’t need to be said. That even when she doesn’t hear from me, or I don’t text her, or we haven’t skyped that week or we’ve had an argument or at any time, I hope that my mum knows that I will always love her. I wouldn’t be who I am today without my family and particularly the support of my mum. I also would probably have a completely different family who would no doubt not be as awesome without my mum.

So, even though I’ve done what I do every year and waited until Mothers day to say it – thanks mum. Thanks for listening to me after traumatic trips to the dentist, for coming to my house and basically looking after me even though you’re the guest, for always loving me still even when I’m being unreasonable and obnoxiously so, for understanding me when it doesn’t feel like anyone else does, for speaking your mind even if it’s hard for me to hear, for letting me chase all my crazy dreams and ideas and for always sharing in my successes as if they were yours too. In a way, they all are because you’re very much a part of how I can achieve them.

I do miss living in the same town as you, and I can’t wait to see you in England in a few months. I hope you have a wonderful day today and that Dad can make you cups of tea and take you out for breakfast in my place. You have done and are doing a good job at being a mum and I hope today you can appreciate yourself as much as I do.

It’s a bit soppy but, love you mum, thanks for not ditching me after my first (of many) tantrums. You’re awesome xmothers day.png

One thought on “To my mum,

  1. karen says:

    Aw Ellie,
    That is such a great post! Not too slushy but very heartfelt and real.
    I loved it when you said about not ditching you !! I guess there was that option..tee hee… But even more special then that your mum didn’t aye!!!!
    Isn’t it an awesome feeling to know unconditional love. Your mum has certainly demonstrated that and I think for what it’s worth that she is an amazing mum to you all. I am in awe of her strength and courage and sense of family.
    Lots of love to you Ellie xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

