Letting go

Hello Loves,

This is more of a conversational post because I thought it would be nice to share some of my views on social media and my experience with it.

I’m part of a generation who grew up with dial-up internet and having to yell at your sister to get off the phone so you could go online to one of the five websites that existed at the time. Social media and the online world has changed so much, even in my short lifetime and the way I relate to it has changed also.

I am very comfortable with friends on social media, however publishing thoughts and blogging online has been a dream and a fear for a large part of my life. If I had to count up all the random blogs I’ve started over the years and abandoned because I was too scared to actually share them we would literally be here forever.

However, now, I’ve realised I’m heading myself up for a life of ‘what ifs?’. What is the worst that can happen from sharing my thoughts in a little corner of the internet? That people might see them? Is that not the point? Art is meant to be seen and enjoyed and writing is my art form. It’s something I have always loved to do and have always felt would be a large part of my life.

This blog is a way for me to take back control of my writing and actually let myself write about whatever I happen to be thinking about at the time, as opposed to writing about whatever legal principle I’ve been assigned that week.

I feel like the internet is an amazing and terrifying place all at the same time. Last night, going over twitter (@ellieolivia 🙂 ) and tweeting some of my most inspirational heroes and mentors and having them reply was surreal. It really got me thinking about how social media brings us so close to those we most admire in a way that we’ve never been able to do before. This is incredible! Yet it also brings us closer to people we don’t know, who will judge us on a post, or a picture or a layout. Or even the way we do our makeup. This is very scary.

The thing that has held me back the most is, sadly, the thoughts of people I do know. A stranger disliking my writing is easy to deal with because I’ll never know. My friends and family judging me for what I write is much harder to ignore and is much more concerning for me. But, I think at 23 it’s now or never to decide you don’t care and ‘you just gonna do you’. If people don’t like what I do here, I appreciate that they gave it a chance and moved on. If they do then that’s obviously even better!

But at the end of the day, I no longer want to live a life in fear of what everyone else will think of me. So I’m going to do it now, for me.

Let me know your own thoughts on the internet and social media! I would love to hear them,

Love,

Ellie x

Leave a Reply

